Inspiration is no stranger to anyone working in the digital media industry, without inspiration thousands of amazing artworks, productions or momentous creations could of never been created. I believe that many people seek inspiration from people who impact their life personally, now this doesn’t mean that they have to know the person personally. A person can touch your soul and inspire you through the pages of a book, a song or an image that you find on the internet. So who inspires me?

One of my biggest inspirations in the creative industry happens to be the singer/song writter Ed Sheeran, now i know this makes me sound like some lame, obsessed fan but i’m less of a fan and more of a listener. I’ve always loved music and when i listen to it i’m listening to it actively, i hear the music and feel the lyrics, which is why i love Ed’s music. He writes most of his songs himself, and though that may not sound that impressive to other people it is impressive to me because i know how hard creating something out of nothing can be. I’m currently working on a sound scape and it is hard work, it’s hard work because trying to communicate with your audience and project your vision isn’t easy. A lot of things interfere with your vision and so eventually you have to change it, but Ed stays true to himself always.  Another reason i think Ed sheeran is inspiring is because he created something (Meaning an awesome, successful career) out of nothing, he spent every night sleeping on a train or stranger’s couch for years until his music career took off.

I watched Ed Sheeran live a couple of months ago and it was definately one of the best performances that i’ve seen! So many artists use glamorous props and stages to enchant their audience but Ed just used his voice and guitar, that was all, no back up track or fancy props just him and his genuine voice.  That is something that makes him unique.

My favorite songs from Ed are ‘Give me love’ and ‘Thinking out loud’, I do have videos of both these songs that i recorded myself when i saw him perform  live however i can’t upload them because they’re not compatible with wordpress so i will leave you the links to his music videos instead, i hope you enjoy them.

-Ali xx